Fort Bend County Felony DWI Lawyer

Home /  Fort Bend County Felony DWI Lawyer

Fort Bend County Felony DWI Attorney

People get pulled over often in Fort Bend while driving, and many are accused of drunkenness or intoxication from other drugs. While DWI arrests happen often, it does not always mean that the defendant is guilty of the charged crime.

The officer could have been wrong in determining that the defendant was intoxicated, or they could have violated their rights during a traffic stop. In the case that this has happened to you, retaining a Fort Bend Felony DWI Lawyer is incredibly beneficial.

While first and second DWI convictions are typically classified under the misdemeanor category, such crimes still have serious consequences. Penalties can result in jail time and hefty fines, in addition to collateral consequences, such as a spike in automobile insurance rates. Therefore, it’s critical to have an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side who can defend you in and out of court.

At Segura & Kiatta, LLP, our team of passionate and knowledgeable DWI lawyers has experience working in both first-time and subsequent DWI cases in the Fort Bend area.

Our knowledge of the court system and administrative processes, as well as the Texas driving laws and other critical legislation, allows us to put the optimal case forward for our clients. We handle a range of DWI cases, from those that involve underage drinking to others that include aggravated assault charges.

Fort Bend County First DWI Charges

If you have been charged with a DWI for the first time, you are probably wondering what the potential consequences will be. Many Texans who get arrested for their first DWI have never been charged with a crime before and, therefore, have no experience with the criminal justice system. In Texas, the DWI laws are strict, even if the individual is being charged for the first time.

Potential penalties associated with the criminal case can also be exacerbated if certain aggravating factors were involved, such as a high BAC level or the presence of a minor in the vehicle at the time of arrest.

A knowledgeable Fort Bend DWI lawyer can guide you through the legal processes of your DWI case, help construct a strong defense, and work toward getting your charges reduced or even dropped.

Potential Penalties for a First DWI in Fort Bend County, TX

Typically, if you are charged with a DWI for the first time, then this is classified as a Class B misdemeanor. The maximum penalty that can result from a conviction is up to $2,000 in fines and up to 180 days of jail time. Unless you can get probation, you will need to spend at least three days in jail.

Prosecutors may try to bring in more evidence for your case that could make it aggravated, which can result in an increase in penalty severity. Therefore, it’s important to work with an experienced DWI defense lawyer who can help analyze all of the evidence that the prosecution has brought against you and mount a foolproof defense.

Aggravating Factors That Can Increase First DWI Penalties

In the state of Texas, the DWI penalties are strict, even for first-time offenders. As aggravating factors are introduced, the associated penalties can greatly increase in severity. Thus, it’s important to understand what your charges are and what the associated penalties might be.

Driving With a Passenger Under the Age of 15

If you get a DWI and were driving with a passenger who was under the age of 15 at the time of arrest, then your charges will automatically be increased to a felony, even if it is your first DWI. Maximum penalties that you can face include up to $10,000 in fines and anywhere from 180 days to two years of jail time.

Having a High BAC Upon Arrest

Additionally, if you blow a BAC of 0.15 or greater, then your charges can be increased to a Class A misdemeanor. This means that you can face up to a year in jail and may have to pay up to $4,000 in fines.

If you are charged with having a high BAC in Texas, then you may also have to install an ignition interlock device, or IID, in your automobile. This machine takes your BAC level and will only start if you are below a certain BAC.

Assaulting or Killing an Individual as a Result of Driving Intoxicated

The penalties associated with your charges can be seriously increased if you were drunk driving and another person was harmed as a result. Your charges can be upgraded to a third-degree felony, known as intoxication assault. Regardless of whether you have been charged with a DWI before, you can face two to ten years of prison time and have to pay up to $10,000.

If an individual involved in the accident lost their life because you were drunk driving, then your charges can be upgraded to a second-degree felony of intoxication. If convicted on these charges, you may have to pay up to $10,000 in fines and spend anywhere from two to 20 years in prison.

Facing intoxication manslaughter or assault charges can be extremely overwhelming and, if you’re convicted, can have a serious impact on the rest of your life. Therefore, it is critical to get in touch with an experienced DWI Fort Bend lawyer who can assist you.

Aggressive DWI Defense You Can Count on

If you have been recently charged with drunk driving or driving under the influence, you may be concerned about what your next steps should be. It’s important to act quickly to make sure that you meet all pertinent deadlines, such as the administrative hearing for getting your license back.

A DWI lawyer from Segura & Kiatta, LLP, can help support you with all of the legal logistics pertaining to your case so that you can focus on getting back to normal.

The criminal defense lawyers at Segura & Kiatta, LLP can work closely with you to understand the details of your case, including how your traffic stop was conducted if you are taking any prescribed medications, and whether your constitutional rights were compromised.

We are technical and precise in approaching the details so that we can build an optimal defense for your case. Contact one of our Fort Bend DWI lawyers today to start getting to work.


Contact us

Contact segura & kiatta criminal defense

Schedule Your
Free Consultation

*Required Information

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Our Location

Segura & Kiatta, Criminal Defense
345 Commerce Green Blvd
Suite 200
Sugar Land, Texas 77478